h1

William Miller

August 21, 2006

I have recently begun editing at Wikipedia. I totally rewrote and expanded the article on William Miller (which still needs some more work). While doing so I discovered that a photograph of Miller has recently been discovered.

William Miller Daguerrotype

This is very exciting because up until now, no photograph of Miller has been known- all illustrations of Miller have been artistic renditions. The photograph is poor in quality and I have asked the finder if it is possible to obtain a better quality picture. The photograph was found in the New York Public Library and it is a Daguerrotype dated to 1845.

SDAs trace their roots back to William Miller and his Millerite followers, being part of a group that re-interpreted the failed prophecy of October 22, 1844.

3 comments

  1. I think it’s great you are editing on Wikipedia. It’s a great site and I’m sure you are making the page on Miller be top notch.

    Thanks for the blog. I’m glad to come across it and I’ve learned a lot about SDA History already. This is pricelss information that I hope a lot of people are able to follow along and learn from you.


  2. I agree, Wikipedia is a great site that
    I consult frequently. I do not however allow my students to quote from it in assignments. It is not a stable document making-thus making appropriate referencing impossible & the quality of entries is highly variable. Take a look at the entry on the History of the Seventh-day Adventist Church for example:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_the_Seventh-day_Adventist_Church –it ends it 1888!! (My next project when I get a chance.)

    Thanks for dropping by.


  3. Well this may or may not be related but my mother has been tracing our family tree back and I am a direct descendant from William Miller, so if anyone would like more info on his life post a reply here.



Leave a Reply

